← Episode overview
STANDARDIZED EPISODE BENCHMARK · CUTOFF 2026-10-19

Unilateral inguinal hernia repair

Public tariffs, separately identified private published prices and public waiting times for unilateral inguinal hernia repair, drawn from government schedules, hospital price publications and waiting-time registries (cutoff: 2026-10-19).

What a complete procedure typically includes

Our reference definition covers: surgeon, anaesthesia, mesh when indicated, facility. It excludes: bilateral repair, recurrent hernia, complications. Note: Government tariff codes below follow each country’s own billing rules and may exclude implants, doctor fees, or follow-up care—check each country card for what is included.

How to read these numbers in 10 seconds:Official benchmarks with unverified episode equivalence do not establish the cost of the complete procedure. Historical periods do not describe current appointment availability.

At a glance by country

Ranking set only by published data — no clinic pays for placement

Spain

Official data
OFFICIAL PRICE BENCHMARK / PUBLISHED PRICE

— Not yet in our official snapshot for Spain

PUBLIC HOSPITAL WAITING TIME
103 days (~3.4 months)Average time spent on the public waiting list so far (patients currently waiting)National average time that patients still waiting for surgery had spent on the public list as of 2025-12-31.Period: 2025-12-31Historical data (2025-12-31) — not current waitSource: Spain Ministry of Health (SISLE)
Scope notes, billing codes & exact distribution

mean; waiting patients · procedure · source period 2025-12-31 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2025-12-31 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:27.427ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Includes femoral hernia; laterality is not specified.

All 1 series, scope notes, billing codes and source rows for Spain

France

Official data
OFFICIAL PRICE BENCHMARK / PUBLISHED PRICE

What the public health system pays (official tariff)

1,821.82 EUR (single published tariff, n=1)≈ 2,039.53 USD · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 EUR = 1.1195 USDWhat French public insurance pays the public hospital (GHS base tariff)Public hospital stay base rate (excludes separately billed implants and geographic adjustments) · Schedule: 2026Source: France ATIH (Public Hospital Tariffs)
PUBLIC HOSPITAL WAITING TIME

— Not yet in our official snapshot for France

Scope notes, billing codes & exact distribution

public_tariff · GHS public-sector base tariff from 2026 schedule; source DATE-EFFET retained separately · code 06C12J · source period 2026 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 1,821.82 · p25 1,821.82 · median 1,821.82 · p75 1,821.82 · max 1,821.82 EUR · n=1

≈ 2,039.53 USD · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 EUR = 1.1195 USDSource period: 2026 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:25.414ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Administrative GHS baseline; group includes related procedures and may not prove all basket inclusions. Geographic/prudential adjustments, supplements and separately reimbursed devices excluded.

All 1 series, scope notes, billing codes and source rows for France

United Kingdom

England, Scotland · Official data
OFFICIAL PRICE BENCHMARK / PUBLISHED PRICE

— Not yet in our official snapshot for United Kingdom

PUBLIC HOSPITAL WAITING TIME
12.78 weeksTypical (median) time on the public waiting list (patients currently waiting)General Surgery Service (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)Half of patients still on the public waiting list as of 2026-08 had been waiting less than this.Period: 2026-08 · EnglandSource: NHS England (Referral to Treatment)
41.19 weeksLong-wait benchmark: 92% of waiting-list patients have waited less than (92nd percentile, currently waiting)General Surgery Service (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)92% of patients still on the public list as of 2026-08 had waited this long or less.Period: 2026-08 · EnglandSource: NHS England (Referral to Treatment)
56 days (~1.8 months)Typical (median) wait at public hospitals (completed patients)General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)Half of patients treated at public hospitals in 2026-08 waited less than this, and half waited longer.Period: 2026-08 · ScotlandSource: Public Health Scotland
304.8 days (~10.0 months)Long-wait benchmark: 9 in 10 public patients treated within (90th percentile, completed patients)General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)90% of patients who completed surgery in 2026-08 waited this long or less; 10% waited longer.Period: 2026-08 · ScotlandSource: Public Health Scotland
110 days (~3.6 months)Typical (median) time on the public waiting list (patients currently waiting)General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)Half of patients still on the public waiting list as of 2026-08 had been waiting less than this.Period: 2026-08 · ScotlandSource: Public Health Scotland
310 days (~10.2 months)Long-wait benchmark: 9 in 10 waiting-list patients have waited less than (90th percentile, currently waiting)General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)90% of patients still on the public list as of 2026-08 had waited this long or less.Period: 2026-08 · ScotlandSource: Public Health Scotland
Scope notes, billing codes & exact distribution

median; waiting patients · General Surgery Service · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:53:51.223ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Specialty-level proxy, not a procedure waiting time. Incomplete consultant-led referral-to-treatment pathways at month end; includes diagnostics and appointments. Published NHS median/p92 are estimates from aggregate data; values are copied, never calculated from bins. One specialty is intentionally referenced by multiple basket items; do not count these as independent cohorts.

p92; waiting patients · General Surgery Service · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:53:51.223ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Specialty-level proxy, not a procedure waiting time. Incomplete consultant-led referral-to-treatment pathways at month end; includes diagnostics and appointments. Published NHS median/p92 are estimates from aggregate data; values are copied, never calculated from bins. One specialty is intentionally referenced by multiple basket items; do not count these as independent cohorts.

median; completed patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:58:01.614ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Published specialty-level stage-of-treatment wait, not a procedure-specific wait or full referral-to-treatment pathway. The same specialty statistic may appear for multiple basket procedures; do not count those as independent patient cohorts.

p90; completed patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:58:01.614ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Published specialty-level stage-of-treatment wait, not a procedure-specific wait or full referral-to-treatment pathway. The same specialty statistic may appear for multiple basket procedures; do not count those as independent patient cohorts.

median; waiting patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:58:01.614ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Published specialty-level stage-of-treatment wait, not a procedure-specific wait or full referral-to-treatment pathway. The same specialty statistic may appear for multiple basket procedures; do not count those as independent patient cohorts.

p90; waiting patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:58:01.614ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Published specialty-level stage-of-treatment wait, not a procedure-specific wait or full referral-to-treatment pathway. The same specialty statistic may appear for multiple basket procedures; do not count those as independent patient cohorts.

All 6 series, scope notes, billing codes and source rows for United Kingdom

India

Official data
OFFICIAL PRICE BENCHMARK / PUBLISHED PRICE

What the public health system pays (official tariff)

23,400 INR median (typical range p25–p75: 21,700–24,200 INR across 6 observations)≈ 245.91 USD (median of converted observations) · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 INR = 0.010509 USD (cross rate from ECB euro reference rates)What India’s PM-JAY public insurance pays the hospitalPublic hospital package rate across 3 city tiers — excludes separately priced implants and state top-ups · Schedule: 20222 tariff codes at the same published value; separate code breakdown in the complete table.Source: India National Health Authority (PM-JAY)
PUBLIC HOSPITAL WAITING TIME

— Not yet in our official snapshot for India

Scope notes, billing codes & exact distribution

public_tariff · HBP 2022 city-tier procedure tariff; separately mapped implants are excluded; state amendments/accreditation incentives not applied · code SG050A · source period 2022 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 20,000 · p25 21,700 · median 23,400 · p75 24,200 · max 25,000 INR · n=3

≈ 245.91 USD (median of converted observations) · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 INR = 0.010509 USD (cross rate from ECB euro reference rates)Source period: 2022 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:12.393ZExcluded: 0 / 3 · None

public_tariff · HBP 2022 city-tier procedure tariff; separately mapped implants are excluded; state amendments/accreditation incentives not applied · code SG050B · source period 2022 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 20,000 · p25 21,700 · median 23,400 · p75 24,200 · max 25,000 INR · n=3

≈ 245.91 USD (median of converted observations) · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 INR = 0.010509 USD (cross rate from ECB euro reference rates)Source period: 2022 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:12.393ZExcluded: 0 / 3 · None

All 2 series, scope notes, billing codes and source rows for India

United States

Official data
OFFICIAL PRICE BENCHMARK / PUBLISHED PRICE

What the public health system pays (official tariff)

$3,657.95 USD (single published tariff, n=1)What US Medicare pays the hospital (outpatient facility only)Hospital outpatient facility fee only — excludes the surgeon’s professional fee · Schedule: 2026-10Source: US Medicare (CMS OPPS)
$6,176.47 USD (single published tariff, n=1)What US Medicare pays the hospital (outpatient facility only)Hospital outpatient facility fee only — excludes the surgeon’s professional fee · Schedule: 2026-10Source: US Medicare (CMS OPPS)
$503.49 USD median (typical range p25–p75: 490.22–530.89 USD across 109 observations)What US Medicare pays the doctor (surgeon fee only)Doctor’s professional fee only — excludes hospital room, anaesthesia, and implant · Schedule: 2026-01Source: US Medicare (CMS Physician Fee Schedule)
$421.63 USD median (typical range p25–p75: 408.88–444.16 USD across 109 observations)What US Medicare pays the doctor (surgeon fee only)Doctor’s professional fee only — excludes hospital room, anaesthesia, and implant · Schedule: 2026-01Source: US Medicare (CMS Physician Fee Schedule)
Separate hospital and doctor payment schedules. Do not add together: we never sum them into a synthetic total.
PUBLIC HOSPITAL WAITING TIME

— Not yet in our official snapshot for United States

Scope notes, billing codes & exact distribution

public_tariff · PFS professional fee in facility; non-QP; excludes hospital, anaesthesia and implant · code 49505 · source period 2026-01 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 449.39 · p25 490.22 · median 503.49 · p75 530.89 · max 620.12 USD · n=109

Source period: 2026-01 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:02.711ZExcluded: 0 / 109 · None

public_tariff · PFS professional fee in facility; non-QP; excludes hospital, anaesthesia and implant · code 49650 · source period 2026-01 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 374.85 · p25 408.88 · median 421.63 · p75 444.16 · max 514.85 USD · n=109

Source period: 2026-01 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:02.711ZExcluded: 0 / 109 · None

public_tariff · OPPS national unadjusted hospital outpatient facility payment; excludes separate professional fee · code 49505 · source period 2026-10 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 3,657.95 · p25 3,657.95 · median 3,657.95 · p75 3,657.95 · max 3,657.95 USD · n=1

Source period: 2026-10 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:03.805ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

public_tariff · OPPS national unadjusted hospital outpatient facility payment; excludes separate professional fee · code 49650 · source period 2026-10 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 6,176.47 · p25 6,176.47 · median 6,176.47 · p75 6,176.47 · max 6,176.47 USD · n=1

Source period: 2026-10 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:03.805ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

All 4 series, scope notes, billing codes and source rows for United States

Countries in the index without official data for unilateral inguinal hernia repair yet: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Malaysia, Norway, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Thailand, Türkiye.

Visual comparison by payer context

Public payment tariffs · France · GHS public-sector base tariff from 2026 schedule; source DATE-EFFET retained separately · 2026 · EUR

Published prices in original source currency (shared 0–1,821.82 EUR scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 1,821.82 EUR scale. Public tariffs, doctor-only fees and private published prices are labeled separately. Quantiles describe observed payment series, not patient bills.Shared EUR scale: 0–1,821.82France: What French public insurance pays the public hospital (GHS base tariff) · Public hospital stay base rate (excludes separately billed implants and geographic adjustments) · source period 2026 · 2026. min 1,821.82 · p25 1,821.82 · median 1,821.82 · p75 1,821.82 · max 1,821.82 EUR · n=1France · 1,821.82 EURFrance ATIH (Public Hospital Tariffs) · Publichospital stay base rate (excludes separatelybilled implants and geographic adjustments) ·2026Single published tariff
Original source amounts. Each row retains its own scope and source period.
Converted prices for orientation (shared 0–2,039.53 USD scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 2,039.53 USD scale. Public tariffs, doctor-only fees and private published prices are labeled separately. Quantiles describe observed payment series, not patient bills.Shared USD scale: 0–2,039.53France: What French public insurance pays the public hospital (GHS base tariff) · Public hospital stay base rate (excludes separately billed implants and geographic adjustments) · source period 2026 · 2026. min 2,039.53 · p25 2,039.53 · median 2,039.53 · p75 2,039.53 · max 2,039.53 USD · n=1France · $2,039.53 USDFrance ATIH (Public Hospital Tariffs) · Publichospital stay base rate (excludes separatelybilled implants and geographic adjustments) ·2026Single published tariff
Each conversion uses dated ECB reference rates. Scope and source period are unchanged.
≈ 2,039.53 USD · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 EUR = 1.1195 USD

Public payment tariffs · United States · PFS professional fee in facility; non-QP; excludes hospital, anaesthesia and implant · 2026-01 · USD

Published prices in original source currency (shared 0–530.89 USD scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 530.89 USD scale. Public tariffs, doctor-only fees and private published prices are labeled separately. Quantiles describe observed payment series, not patient bills.Shared USD scale: 0–530.89United States: What US Medicare pays the doctor (surgeon fee only) · Doctor’s professional fee only — excludes hospital room, anaesthesia, and implant · source period 2026-01 · 2026-01. min 449.39 · p25 490.22 · median 503.49 · p75 530.89 · max 620.12 USD · n=109United States · $503.49 USDUS Medicare (CMS Physician Fee Schedule) ·Doctor fee only (excludes hospital) · 2026-01Typical range: 490.22–530.89 USDUnited States: What US Medicare pays the doctor (surgeon fee only) · Doctor’s professional fee only — excludes hospital room, anaesthesia, and implant · source period 2026-01 · 2026-01. min 374.85 · p25 408.88 · median 421.63 · p75 444.16 · max 514.85 USD · n=109United States · $421.63 USDUS Medicare (CMS Physician Fee Schedule) ·Doctor fee only (excludes hospital) · 2026-01Typical range: 408.88–444.16 USD
Original source amounts. Each row retains its own scope and source period.

Public payment tariffs · United States · OPPS national unadjusted hospital outpatient facility payment; excludes separate professional fee · 2026-10 · USD

Published prices in original source currency (shared 0–6,176.47 USD scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 6,176.47 USD scale. Public tariffs, doctor-only fees and private published prices are labeled separately. Quantiles describe observed payment series, not patient bills.Shared USD scale: 0–6,176.47United States: What US Medicare pays the hospital (outpatient facility only) · Hospital outpatient facility fee only — excludes the surgeon’s professional fee · source period 2026-10 · 2026-10. min 3,657.95 · p25 3,657.95 · median 3,657.95 · p75 3,657.95 · max 3,657.95 USD · n=1United States · $3,657.95 USDUS Medicare (CMS OPPS) · Hospital outpatientfacility fee only — excludes the surgeon’sprofessional fee · 2026-10Single published tariffUnited States: What US Medicare pays the hospital (outpatient facility only) · Hospital outpatient facility fee only — excludes the surgeon’s professional fee · source period 2026-10 · 2026-10. min 6,176.47 · p25 6,176.47 · median 6,176.47 · p75 6,176.47 · max 6,176.47 USD · n=1United States · $6,176.47 USDUS Medicare (CMS OPPS) · Hospital outpatientfacility fee only — excludes the surgeon’sprofessional fee · 2026-10Single published tariff
Original source amounts. Each row retains its own scope and source period.

Public payment tariffs · India · HBP 2022 city-tier procedure tariff; separately mapped implants are excluded; state amendments/accreditation incentives not applied · 2022 · INR

Published prices in original source currency (shared 0–24,200 INR scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 24,200 INR scale. Public tariffs, doctor-only fees and private published prices are labeled separately. Quantiles describe observed payment series, not patient bills.Shared INR scale: 0–24,200India: What India’s PM-JAY public insurance pays the hospital · Public hospital package rate across 3 city tiers — excludes separately priced implants and state top-ups · source period 2022 · 2022. min 20,000 · p25 21,700 · median 23,400 · p75 24,200 · max 25,000 INR · n=3India · 23,400 INRIndia National Health Authority (PM-JAY) ·Public hospital package rate across 3 city tiers— excludes separately priced implants and statetop-ups · 2022Typical range: 21,700–24,200 INRIndia: What India’s PM-JAY public insurance pays the hospital · Public hospital package rate across 3 city tiers — excludes separately priced implants and state top-ups · source period 2022 · 2022. min 20,000 · p25 21,700 · median 23,400 · p75 24,200 · max 25,000 INR · n=3India · 23,400 INRIndia National Health Authority (PM-JAY) ·Public hospital package rate across 3 city tiers— excludes separately priced implants and statetop-ups · 2022Typical range: 21,700–24,200 INR
Original source amounts. Each row retains its own scope and source period.
Converted prices for orientation (shared 0–254.32 USD scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 254.32 USD scale. Public tariffs, doctor-only fees and private published prices are labeled separately. Quantiles describe observed payment series, not patient bills.Shared USD scale: 0–254.32India: What India’s PM-JAY public insurance pays the hospital · Public hospital package rate across 3 city tiers — excludes separately priced implants and state top-ups · source period 2022 · 2022. min 210.18 · p25 228.05 · median 245.91 · p75 254.32 · max 262.72 USD · n=3India · $245.91 USDIndia National Health Authority (PM-JAY) ·Public hospital package rate across 3 city tiers— excludes separately priced implants and statetop-ups · 2022Typical range: 228.05–254.32 USDIndia: What India’s PM-JAY public insurance pays the hospital · Public hospital package rate across 3 city tiers — excludes separately priced implants and state top-ups · source period 2022 · 2022. min 210.18 · p25 228.05 · median 245.91 · p75 254.32 · max 262.72 USD · n=3India · $245.91 USDIndia National Health Authority (PM-JAY) ·Public hospital package rate across 3 city tiers— excludes separately priced implants and statetop-ups · 2022Typical range: 228.05–254.32 USD
Each conversion uses dated ECB reference rates. Scope and source period are unchanged.
≈ 245.91 USD (median of converted observations) · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 INR = 0.010509 USD (cross rate from ECB euro reference rates)≈ 245.91 USD (median of converted observations) · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 INR = 0.010509 USD (cross rate from ECB euro reference rates)

median · waiting · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded

median · waiting · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded (shared 0–89.46 days scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 89.46 days scale. Patients currently waiting and completed patients remain labeled separately; these are historical statistics, not appointment availability.Shared days scale: 0–89.46United Kingdom (England): Typical (median) time on the public waiting list (patients currently waiting) · 2026-08. 89.46 days (~2.9 months)United Kingdom (England) · 89.46 days (~2.9months)Typical (median) time on the public waiting list(patients currently waiting) · 2026-08National statistic as published
Only series with the same statistic, population, source period, scope, aggregation and definition flags share an axis. National definition deviations remain separate. These are historical statistics, not appointment availability.

p92 · waiting · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded

p92 · waiting · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded (shared 0–288.31 days scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 288.31 days scale. Patients currently waiting and completed patients remain labeled separately; these are historical statistics, not appointment availability.Shared days scale: 0–288.31United Kingdom (England): Long-wait benchmark: 92% of waiting-list patients have waited less than (92nd percentile, currently waiting) · 2026-08. 288.31 days (~9.5 months)United Kingdom (England) · 288.31 days (~9.5months)Long-wait benchmark: 92% of waiting-listpatients have waited less than (92nd percentile,currently waiting) · 2026-08National statistic as published
Only series with the same statistic, population, source period, scope, aggregation and definition flags share an axis. National definition deviations remain separate. These are historical statistics, not appointment availability.

median · completed · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded

median · completed · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded (shared 0–56 days scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 56 days scale. Patients currently waiting and completed patients remain labeled separately; these are historical statistics, not appointment availability.Shared days scale: 0–56United Kingdom (Scotland): Typical (median) wait at public hospitals (completed patients) · 2026-08. 56 days (~1.8 months)United Kingdom (Scotland) · 56 days (~1.8months)Typical (median) wait at public hospitals(completed patients) · 2026-08National statistic as published
Only series with the same statistic, population, source period, scope, aggregation and definition flags share an axis. National definition deviations remain separate. These are historical statistics, not appointment availability.

p90 · completed · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded

p90 · completed · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded (shared 0–304.8 days scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 304.8 days scale. Patients currently waiting and completed patients remain labeled separately; these are historical statistics, not appointment availability.Shared days scale: 0–304.8United Kingdom (Scotland): Long-wait benchmark: 9 in 10 public patients treated within (90th percentile, completed patients) · 2026-08. 304.8 days (~10.0 months)United Kingdom (Scotland) · 304.8 days (~10.0months)Long-wait benchmark: 9 in 10 public patientstreated within (90th percentile, completedpatients) · 2026-08National statistic as published
Only series with the same statistic, population, source period, scope, aggregation and definition flags share an axis. National definition deviations remain separate. These are historical statistics, not appointment availability.

median · waiting · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded

median · waiting · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded (shared 0–110 days scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 110 days scale. Patients currently waiting and completed patients remain labeled separately; these are historical statistics, not appointment availability.Shared days scale: 0–110United Kingdom (Scotland): Typical (median) time on the public waiting list (patients currently waiting) · 2026-08. 110 days (~3.6 months)United Kingdom (Scotland) · 110 days (~3.6months)Typical (median) time on the public waiting list(patients currently waiting) · 2026-08National statistic as published
Only series with the same statistic, population, source period, scope, aggregation and definition flags share an axis. National definition deviations remain separate. These are historical statistics, not appointment availability.

p90 · waiting · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded

p90 · waiting · specialty · 2026-08 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded (shared 0–310 days scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 310 days scale. Patients currently waiting and completed patients remain labeled separately; these are historical statistics, not appointment availability.Shared days scale: 0–310United Kingdom (Scotland): Long-wait benchmark: 9 in 10 waiting-list patients have waited less than (90th percentile, currently waiting) · 2026-08. 310 days (~10.2 months)United Kingdom (Scotland) · 310 days (~10.2months)Long-wait benchmark: 9 in 10 waiting-listpatients have waited less than (90th percentile,currently waiting) · 2026-08National statistic as published
Only series with the same statistic, population, source period, scope, aggregation and definition flags share an axis. National definition deviations remain separate. These are historical statistics, not appointment availability.

mean · waiting · procedure · 2025-12-31 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded

mean · waiting · procedure · 2025-12-31 · as_reported · no definition/provisional flag recorded (shared 0–103 days scale)Bars from zero to each reported value or median, with interquartile range (p25 to p75) where available. Shared zero to 103 days scale. Patients currently waiting and completed patients remain labeled separately; these are historical statistics, not appointment availability.Shared days scale: 0–103Spain: Average time spent on the public waiting list so far (patients currently waiting) · 2025-12-31. 103 days (~3.4 months)Spain · 103 days (~3.4 months)Average time spent on the public waiting list sofar (patients currently waiting) · 2025-12-31National statistic as published
Only series with the same statistic, population, source period, scope, aggregation and definition flags share an axis. National definition deviations remain separate. These are historical statistics, not appointment availability.
Inspect complete statistical table (all series, quantiles, procedure codes, FX rates & exclusions)
Original currency and USD distributions; waits retain their published statistic and population. n counts observations, not patients.
Country / source scopeDistribution or reported waitEvidence and dates
Argentina— No observations in snapshot
Australia— No observations in snapshot
Belgium— No observations in snapshot
Brazil— No observations in snapshot
Canada— No observations in snapshot
Chile— No observations in snapshot
Colombia— No observations in snapshot
Costa Rica— No observations in snapshot
Cyprus— No observations in snapshot
Czechia— No observations in snapshot
Denmark— No observations in snapshot
Spainmean; waiting patients · procedure · source period 2025-12-31

mean; waiting patients · procedure · source period 2025-12-31 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2025-12-31 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:27.427ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Includes femoral hernia; laterality is not specified.

103 days (~3.4 months)Average time spent on the public waiting list so far (patients currently waiting)National average time that patients still waiting for surgery had spent on the public list as of 2025-12-31.Period: 2025-12-31Historical data (2025-12-31) — not current wait

Published values: 103

Spain Ministry of Health (SISLE)
Finland— No observations in snapshot
Francepublic_tariff · GHS public-sector base tariff from 2026 schedule; source DATE-EFFET retained separately · code 06C12J · source period 2026

public_tariff · GHS public-sector base tariff from 2026 schedule; source DATE-EFFET retained separately · code 06C12J · source period 2026 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 1,821.82 · p25 1,821.82 · median 1,821.82 · p75 1,821.82 · max 1,821.82 EUR · n=1

≈ 2,039.53 USD · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 EUR = 1.1195 USDSource period: 2026 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:25.414ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Administrative GHS baseline; group includes related procedures and may not prove all basket inclusions. Geographic/prudential adjustments, supplements and separately reimbursed devices excluded.

France ATIH (Public Hospital Tariffs)
United Kingdom (England)median; waiting patients · General Surgery Service · source period 2026-08

median; waiting patients · General Surgery Service · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:53:51.223ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Specialty-level proxy, not a procedure waiting time. Incomplete consultant-led referral-to-treatment pathways at month end; includes diagnostics and appointments. Published NHS median/p92 are estimates from aggregate data; values are copied, never calculated from bins. One specialty is intentionally referenced by multiple basket items; do not count these as independent cohorts.

12.78 weeksTypical (median) time on the public waiting list (patients currently waiting)General Surgery Service (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)Half of patients still on the public waiting list as of 2026-08 had been waiting less than this.Period: 2026-08 · England

Published values: 12.78

NHS England (Referral to Treatment)
United Kingdom (England)p92; waiting patients · General Surgery Service · source period 2026-08

p92; waiting patients · General Surgery Service · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:53:51.223ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Specialty-level proxy, not a procedure waiting time. Incomplete consultant-led referral-to-treatment pathways at month end; includes diagnostics and appointments. Published NHS median/p92 are estimates from aggregate data; values are copied, never calculated from bins. One specialty is intentionally referenced by multiple basket items; do not count these as independent cohorts.

41.19 weeksLong-wait benchmark: 92% of waiting-list patients have waited less than (92nd percentile, currently waiting)General Surgery Service (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)92% of patients still on the public list as of 2026-08 had waited this long or less.Period: 2026-08 · England

Published values: 41.19

NHS England (Referral to Treatment)
United Kingdom (Scotland)median; completed patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits · source period 2026-08

median; completed patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:58:01.614ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Published specialty-level stage-of-treatment wait, not a procedure-specific wait or full referral-to-treatment pathway. The same specialty statistic may appear for multiple basket procedures; do not count those as independent patient cohorts.

56 days (~1.8 months)Typical (median) wait at public hospitals (completed patients)General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)Half of patients treated at public hospitals in 2026-08 waited less than this, and half waited longer.Period: 2026-08 · Scotland

Published values: 56

Public Health Scotland
United Kingdom (Scotland)p90; completed patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits · source period 2026-08

p90; completed patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:58:01.614ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Published specialty-level stage-of-treatment wait, not a procedure-specific wait or full referral-to-treatment pathway. The same specialty statistic may appear for multiple basket procedures; do not count those as independent patient cohorts.

304.8 days (~10.0 months)Long-wait benchmark: 9 in 10 public patients treated within (90th percentile, completed patients)General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; completed waits (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)90% of patients who completed surgery in 2026-08 waited this long or less; 10% waited longer.Period: 2026-08 · Scotland

Published values: 304.8

Public Health Scotland
United Kingdom (Scotland)median; waiting patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits · source period 2026-08

median; waiting patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:58:01.614ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Published specialty-level stage-of-treatment wait, not a procedure-specific wait or full referral-to-treatment pathway. The same specialty statistic may appear for multiple basket procedures; do not count those as independent patient cohorts.

110 days (~3.6 months)Typical (median) time on the public waiting list (patients currently waiting)General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)Half of patients still on the public waiting list as of 2026-08 had been waiting less than this.Period: 2026-08 · Scotland

Published values: 110

Public Health Scotland
United Kingdom (Scotland)p90; waiting patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits · source period 2026-08

p90; waiting patients · General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits · source period 2026-08 · Episode equivalence: unverified

unavailable · n=1 observations

Source period: 2026-08 · Captured: 2026-10-14T22:58:01.614ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None

Published specialty-level stage-of-treatment wait, not a procedure-specific wait or full referral-to-treatment pathway. The same specialty statistic may appear for multiple basket procedures; do not count those as independent patient cohorts.

310 days (~10.2 months)Long-wait benchmark: 9 in 10 waiting-list patients have waited less than (90th percentile, currently waiting)General Surgery (C1); inpatient/day-case stage of treatment; ongoing waits (specialty-level wait, not a procedure-specific wait)90% of patients still on the public list as of 2026-08 had waited this long or less.Period: 2026-08 · Scotland

Published values: 310

Public Health Scotland
Greece— No observations in snapshot
Hungary— No observations in snapshot
Indiapublic_tariff · HBP 2022 city-tier procedure tariff; separately mapped implants are excluded; state amendments/accreditation incentives not applied · code SG050A · source period 2022

public_tariff · HBP 2022 city-tier procedure tariff; separately mapped implants are excluded; state amendments/accreditation incentives not applied · code SG050A · source period 2022 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 20,000 · p25 21,700 · median 23,400 · p75 24,200 · max 25,000 INR · n=3

≈ 245.91 USD (median of converted observations) · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 INR = 0.010509 USD (cross rate from ECB euro reference rates)Source period: 2022 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:12.393ZExcluded: 0 / 3 · None
India National Health Authority (PM-JAY)
Indiapublic_tariff · HBP 2022 city-tier procedure tariff; separately mapped implants are excluded; state amendments/accreditation incentives not applied · code SG050B · source period 2022

public_tariff · HBP 2022 city-tier procedure tariff; separately mapped implants are excluded; state amendments/accreditation incentives not applied · code SG050B · source period 2022 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 20,000 · p25 21,700 · median 23,400 · p75 24,200 · max 25,000 INR · n=3

≈ 245.91 USD (median of converted observations) · BCE / ECB · 2026-10-14 · 1 INR = 0.010509 USD (cross rate from ECB euro reference rates)Source period: 2022 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:12.393ZExcluded: 0 / 3 · None
India National Health Authority (PM-JAY)
Italy— No observations in snapshot
Japan— No observations in snapshot
Mexico— No observations in snapshot
Malaysia— No observations in snapshot
Norway— No observations in snapshot
New Zealand— No observations in snapshot
Poland— No observations in snapshot
Portugal— No observations in snapshot
Sweden— No observations in snapshot
Thailand— No observations in snapshot
Türkiye— No observations in snapshot
United Statespublic_tariff · PFS professional fee in facility; non-QP; excludes hospital, anaesthesia and implant · code 49505 · source period 2026-01

public_tariff · PFS professional fee in facility; non-QP; excludes hospital, anaesthesia and implant · code 49505 · source period 2026-01 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 449.39 · p25 490.22 · median 503.49 · p75 530.89 · max 620.12 USD · n=109

Source period: 2026-01 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:02.711ZExcluded: 0 / 109 · None
US Medicare (CMS Physician Fee Schedule)
United Statespublic_tariff · PFS professional fee in facility; non-QP; excludes hospital, anaesthesia and implant · code 49650 · source period 2026-01

public_tariff · PFS professional fee in facility; non-QP; excludes hospital, anaesthesia and implant · code 49650 · source period 2026-01 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 374.85 · p25 408.88 · median 421.63 · p75 444.16 · max 514.85 USD · n=109

Source period: 2026-01 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:02.711ZExcluded: 0 / 109 · None
US Medicare (CMS Physician Fee Schedule)
United Statespublic_tariff · OPPS national unadjusted hospital outpatient facility payment; excludes separate professional fee · code 49505 · source period 2026-10

public_tariff · OPPS national unadjusted hospital outpatient facility payment; excludes separate professional fee · code 49505 · source period 2026-10 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 3,657.95 · p25 3,657.95 · median 3,657.95 · p75 3,657.95 · max 3,657.95 USD · n=1

Source period: 2026-10 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:03.805ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None
US Medicare (CMS OPPS)
United Statespublic_tariff · OPPS national unadjusted hospital outpatient facility payment; excludes separate professional fee · code 49650 · source period 2026-10

public_tariff · OPPS national unadjusted hospital outpatient facility payment; excludes separate professional fee · code 49650 · source period 2026-10 · Episode equivalence: unverified

Original: min 6,176.47 · p25 6,176.47 · median 6,176.47 · p75 6,176.47 · max 6,176.47 USD · n=1

Source period: 2026-10 · Captured: 2026-10-14T21:02:03.805ZExcluded: 0 / 1 · None
US Medicare (CMS OPPS)
Download episode observations (JSON)CSVMethodology & Corrections

Work at a hospital or clinic? Share a price confirmed in writing

How to cite

Plain text (fill in the access date)

CareFare Global (SOFT DEV FZ LLC). “CareFare Global Health Index: Unilateral inguinal hernia repair.” Version 1; evidence capture cutoff 2026-10-14. https://carefareglobal.com/index/inguinal-hernia. Accessed: [YYYY-MM-DD: fill in access date].
BibTeX
@misc{carefare_health_index__index_inguinal_hernia,
  author = {{CareFare Global (SOFT DEV FZ LLC)}},
  title = {CareFare Global Health Index: Unilateral inguinal hernia repair},
  publisher = {CareFare Global Health Index},
  version = {1},
  date = {2026-10-14},
  url = {https://carefareglobal.com/index/inguinal-hernia},
  urldate = {YYYY-MM-DD},
  note = {Evidence capture cutoff: 2026-10-14. Fill in urldate before reuse; cite also the original source and source period.}
}

CC BY 4.0 — CC BY 4.0 covers CareFare compilation and aggregates. Original source material, evidence and third-party code systems retain their own rights; no sublicence of those rights is granted.

Cite also the original source (including comparisons on this page)
  • France ATIH (Public Hospital Tariffs) — https://www.atih.sante.fr/sites/default/files/content/documents/2026%20-%20ghs_web_20260101.zip
    Source periods: 2026. Capture dates: 2026-10-14.
  • US Medicare (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) — https://www.cms.gov/files/zip/October-2026-OPPS-Addendum-B.zip
    Source periods: 2026-10. Capture dates: 2026-10-14.
  • US Medicare (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) — https://www.cms.gov/files/zip/pfrev26a-updated-12-29-2025.zip
    Source periods: 2026-01. Capture dates: 2026-10-14.
  • NHS England (Referral to Treatment) — https://www.england.nhs.uk/statistics/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2026/10/Incomplete-Commissioner-Aug26-XLSX-4M-vjgRdG.xlsx
    Source periods: 2026-08. Capture dates: 2026-10-14.
  • Public Health Scotland — https://www.opendata.nhs.scot/dataset/e9dbef36-a343-4b9a-ab7e-b6e6cbcbb38e/resource/ac63b747-fdcc-410c-ae43-de6fe3c46abf/download/sot_performance_ongoing_completed_waits_monthly_aug26.csv
    Source periods: 2026-08. Capture dates: 2026-10-14.
  • India National Health Authority (PM-JAY) — https://cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in/s3169779d3852b32ce8b1a1724dbf5217d/uploads/2024/06/20240619792610196.pdf
    Source periods: 2022. Capture dates: 2026-10-14.
  • Spain Ministry of Health (SISLE) — https://www.sanidad.gob.es/estadEstudios/estadisticas/inforRecopilaciones/docs/LISTAS_PUBLICACION_Dic_2025_rectificado.pdf
    Source periods: 2025-12-31. Capture dates: 2026-10-14.