Primary total hip replacement — Spain: What it costs and how long people wait
Official figures and published prices. Each figure retains its source, date and scope. Public tariffs are health-system payments, not private quotes; recorded waits do not promise a current appointment.
The answer from the data
- Historical data (2025-12-31) — not current waitSpain: 98 days — average waiting time, patients still on the public waiting list (2025-12-31). Source: Spain Ministry of Health (SISLE) · Captured: 2026-10-14 · n=1
Origin not recognised. Choose your location to see options for your home country.
No sourced private-care baseline for this origin. Official figures below are benchmarks; no savings percentage is shown.
Private-care and travel estimates are in USD. Official index figures retain their original currency and source dates.
Explore options and request a quote in other countries
Ranking set only by published data — no clinic pays for placement
Official public tariff
No official figure yet. How we collect official figures
No eligible price in this subset.
Official wait
Historical data (2025-12-31) — not current wait98 days — average waiting time, patients still on the public waiting list
Source: Spain Ministry of Health · Source period: 2025-12-31 · Captured: 2026-10-14 · n=1 observationsWhat this figure covers
Scope: Spain. Population: patients still on the public waiting list. Reported statistic: average waiting time. Shown as reported by the source.
n=1 eligible observations. n is not a patient count. Episode equivalence: unverified.
Primary/revision status is not specified.
Audit trail (1)Source series, payment components and distributions
Compare other countries with data
Check scope, payer, statistic, population and period. Figures may cover different services; they are not a clinical ranking.
| Country | Summary and detail |
|---|---|
| Australia | Public payment tariffsPublic hospital / intervention tariff; check scopepublished amount: 24,031.35 AUD · 1 price series · n=1 observations |
| Belgium | Public payment tariffsPublic doctor fee onlypublished amount: 848.14 EUR · 1 price series · n=1 observations |
| Brazil | Public payment tariffsPublic hospital / intervention tariff; check scopepublished amount: 7,961.81 BRL · 1 price series · n=1 observations |
| Canada | Price: — Not in snapshot yetOfficial public wait: 4 series; statistics, populations and periods in details.View figures and sources → |
| Chile | Public payment tariffsPublic hospital / intervention tariff; check scopepublished amount: 6,630,640 CLP · 3 price series · n=3 observations |
| Denmark | Price: — Not in snapshot yetOfficial public wait: 2 series; statistics, populations and periods in details.View figures and sources → |
| Finland | Price: — Not in snapshot yetOfficial public wait: 2 series; statistics, populations and periods in details.View figures and sources → |
| France | Public payment tariffsPublic hospital / intervention tariff; check scopepublished amount: 5,654.51 EUR · 1 price series · n=1 observations |
| United Kingdom | Public payment tariffsPublic hospital / intervention tariff; check scopepublished amount: 7,426 GBP · 1 price series · n=1 observations Private published pricesScope not establishedguide price from (guide / approximate): 16,761 GBP · 1 price series · n=1 observations |
| India | Private published pricesComponent onlypublished guide / approximate amount: 90,000 INR · 1 price series · n=1 observations Public payment tariffsPublic hospital / intervention tariff; check scopepublished amount: 46,300–76,400 INR · 3 price series · n=9 observations |
| Italy | Price: — Not in snapshot yetOfficial public wait: 2 series; statistics, populations and periods in details.View figures and sources → |
| Japan | Public payment tariffsPublic hospital / intervention tariff; check scopepublished amount: 376,900 JPY · 1 price series · n=1 observations |
| Malaysia | Private published pricesPublished package; check inclusionspublished amount: 32,000 MYR · 1 price series · n=1 observations |
| Norway | Price: — Not in snapshot yetOfficial public wait: 2 series; statistics, populations and periods in details.View figures and sources → |
| New Zealand | Price: — Not in snapshot yetOfficial public wait: 4 series; statistics, populations and periods in details.View figures and sources → |
| Poland | Private published pricesPublished package; check inclusionsfrom: 27,900–29,900 PLN · 2 price series · n=2 observations |
| Portugal | Price: — Not in snapshot yetOfficial public wait: 4 series; statistics, populations and periods in details.View figures and sources → |
| Sweden | Price: — Not in snapshot yetOfficial public wait: 4 series; statistics, populations and periods in details.View figures and sources → |
| Thailand | Private published pricesComponent onlypublished guide / approximate amount: 420,000 THB · 1 price series · n=1 observations |
| Türkiye | Private published pricesComponent onlypublished guide / approximate amount: 6,000 GBP · 1 price series · n=1 observations |
| United States | Public payment tariffsPublic hospital / intervention tariff; check scopepublished amount: 13,116.76 USD · 1 price series · n=1 observations Public doctor fee onlypublished amount: 1,041.64–1,445.67 USD · 1 price series · n=109 observations |
Travel planning checklist
What to arrange if you travel for this procedure.
- Flights: choose flexible tickets and ask your surgeon when it is safe to fly home.
- Stay near the clinic: ask the center how long to remain nearby and confirm travel timing with your clinician before booking.
- Airport transfer: ask the clinic whether it is included.
- Phone and data: arrange mobile data before you land so the clinic can reach you.
- Travel insurance: standard policies often exclude planned treatment abroad; check cover for complications before you book.
- Documents: bring your medical records, imaging and a medication list, in English or the local language.
- Companion: for surgery, consider travelling with someone who can help during recovery.
Commercial links · affiliates
Plan the trip around this procedure
Travel partner links help fund the free CareFare index. Clinics cannot pay to change prices or rankings.
Frequently asked questions
What waiting time has been reported? (Spain; average waiting time; 2025-12-31; Spain Ministry of Health (SISLE))
Historical data (2025-12-31) — not current wait 98 days — average waiting time, patients still on the public waiting list. Source period: 2025-12-31. Captured: 2026-10-14. n=1. Source: https://www.sanidad.gob.es/estadEstudios/estadisticas/inforRecopilaciones/docs/LISTAS_PUBLICACION_Dic_2025_rectificado.pdf. Primary/revision status is not specified.
Download this country and procedure subset (CSV)
CC BY 4.0 covers CareFare compilation and aggregates. Original source material, evidence and third-party code systems retain their own rights; no sublicence of those rights is granted.Hospitals: send a price confirmed in writing (L3), free — no paid placement · Report a correction
Figure sources
Audit trail (1)
fileSha256:ddc25d0f2c882eb8eea9c5798a6570f9de83eda3044bae0413360d8a1be98007How to cite
Plain text (fill in the access date)
CareFare Global (SOFT DEV FZ LLC). “CareFare Global Health Index: Primary total hip replacement — Spain: What it costs and how long people wait.” Version 1; evidence capture cutoff 2026-10-14. https://carefareglobal.com/index/hip-replacement/spain. Accessed: [YYYY-MM-DD: fill in access date].
BibTeX
@misc{carefare_health_index__index_hip_replacement_spain,
author = {{CareFare Global (SOFT DEV FZ LLC)}},
title = {CareFare Global Health Index: Primary total hip replacement — Spain: What it costs and how long people wait},
publisher = {CareFare Global Health Index},
version = {1},
date = {2026-10-14},
url = {https://carefareglobal.com/index/hip-replacement/spain},
urldate = {YYYY-MM-DD},
note = {Evidence capture cutoff: 2026-10-14. Fill in urldate before reuse; cite also the original source and source period.}
}CC BY 4.0 — CC BY 4.0 covers CareFare compilation and aggregates. Original source material, evidence and third-party code systems retain their own rights; no sublicence of those rights is granted.
Cite also the original source (including comparisons on this page)
- Spain Ministry of Health (SISLE) — https://www.sanidad.gob.es/estadEstudios/estadisticas/inforRecopilaciones/docs/LISTAS_PUBLICACION_Dic_2025_rectificado.pdf
Source periods: 2025-12-31. Capture dates: 2026-10-14.